Pumpkin Cake Cheesecake for #SundaySupper Veggies as A Main

Pumpkin_cheesecake_cake_2

Even though it’s not even December yet, I feel like it’s a New Year.

Let me back up.

For long time readers of my blog, y’all know I basically use this as a space to complain about my life. It’s like free therapy and y’all are my therapists! The main source of my angst was work. I’m a lawyer and needless to say, it’s not as glamourous as it seems on tv and in movies. When I went to law school, it was nothing like Legally Blond. I totally blame Reese Witherspoon for my unrealistic expectations.

Well, after years of stress and misery and angst and second guessing myself, I finally made a move this past summer. I left my job for the first time in my life without having another one lined up. It was terrifying but liberating. I was THIIIIIIIIIIS close to giving up on the profession altogether but I thankfully found a job where I’m still a lawyer but the stress level is cut WAY down.

Let me tell you, when people ask me what I’m up to nowadays, I can’t stop smiling because I’m actually happy. It’s a word I wouldn’t have used to describe myself in the past five years.

I be all like:

Top of the mountain, twirling like a madwoman, singing Julie Andrews at the top of my lungs happy. Don’t worry  – I’m still a snarky pessimistic bitch at heart. The dark ‘n twisty doesn’t disappear overnight, y’know!

This is the first time I’ve blogged since the summer and also the first time I’ve participated in my beloved Sunday Supper group since I don’t even know when. My good friend, DB of Crazy Foodie Stunts, is hosting today and when he asked me to join in, I was like, hell yeah.

Then I discovered the theme for today was veggies and I thought to myself “you don’t make friends with salad”

Just kidding, you guys! I’m a lazy SOB so I wasn’t going to be grating up carrots for carrot cake (as much as I love it). The perfect solution was pumpkin. It’s a veggie, right?

Pumpkin_cheesecake_cake_3

Since I love shoving cheesecake into cake, that’s what I did for you today. Two layers of pumpkin cake with an entire pumpkin cheesecake right in the middle, soldered together with melted chocolate and then covered in dark chocolate ganache. It’s huge, it’s decadent, it takes ten hours to make (only a slight exaggeration) and it’s meant for sharing with those you love.

Make sure to check out everyone’s vegalicious recipes:

Sunday Supper MovementJoin the #SundaySupper conversation on twitter on Sunday! We tweet throughout the day and share recipes from all over the world. Our weekly chat starts at 7:00 pm ET. Follow the #SundaySupper hashtag and remember to include it in your tweets to join in the chat. To get more great Sunday Supper Recipes, visit our website or check out our Pinterest board.

Would you like to join the Sunday Supper Movement? It’s easy. You can sign up by clicking here: Sunday Supper Movement.
Pumpkin_cheesecake_cake_4

NOTES:

Before getting started, make sure you have all the ingredients. There are 4 elements to this cake: 2 layers of pumpkin cake, 1 pumpkin cheesecake, chocolate ganache and 2 cups of melted chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Cheesecake

2 packages of cream cheese, room temp
1 cup sugar
1 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
3 large eggs, room temp
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp rum extract (optional)
3 tbsp flour
3 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp ground cloves
1 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 9-inch springform pan with parchment paper. Wrap tightly with a large sheet of aluminum foil.

Beat the cream cheese and sugar on medium speed until smooth and fluffy. Add the pumpkin and mix completely. Beat in the eggs one at a time, scraping the sides of the bowl down after each addition. Add the vanilla, rum extract, flour, spices and salt and mix until completely incorporated. Pour the cheesecake mix into the prepared pan.

Place the pan into a large baking pan. Place them both into the oven and carefully pour water into the large pan until it is nearly full. This water bath will prevent the surface of the cheesecake from cracking.

Bake until the cheesecake is set at the edges and only slightly jiggles in the centre, approximately 50-60 minutes. When the cheesecake is done, turn the oven off and open the oven door slightly. Leave the cheesecake in the oven with the door open to cool for one hour. The gradual cooling with help eliminate cracking. Place the cheesecake into the fridge to chill for at least four hours, preferably overnight before assembling the cake.

Pumpkin_cheesecake_cake_5

Pumpkin Cake (adapted from the New York Times)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
2 cups flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp allspice
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
3 large eggs, room temp
1 1/2 cup plain pumpkin purée

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter two 9-inch round cake pans. Line the bottoms with parchment paper. Butter the parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk the flour, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

In the bowl of your electric mixer or a large bowl with an electric hand mixer, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Stir in the pumpkin purée. The mixture may look slightly curdled – don’t be alarmed! Stir in flour mixture in two portions and mix until smooth.

Divide the batter into the pans and bake in the middle of oven until springy to the touch and a cake tester comes out clean, about 20-30 minutes. Cool cakes in pans for 10 minutes, run a knife around edges, turn onto racks and peel off the parchment paper. Let the cakes cool completely.

Chocolate Ganache

8 ounces dark or bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup unsalted butter

Heat the cream in a small saucepan over medium heat. Once it simmers, pour half of the cream into the chopped chocolate and stir together to start melting the chocolate. Pour the rest of the cream in and stir until all the chocolate has melted. Add the 1/4 cup butter and stir until it has dissolved. Let the ganache cool for at least an hour.

Pumpkin_cheesecake_cake_1

Cake Assembly

Melt 2 cups of chocolate chips in the microwave (in 15 second increments) or in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water.

Place one layer of the cake on your plate. Trim the top if it is uneven. Pour half of the melted chocolate over top and smooth. Place the cheesecake on top and pour the other half of melted chocolate over the cheesecake. Place the second layer of cake on top. If the layer is uneven, trim it. Once the ganache has cooled and thickened, pour it over the cake. It doesn’t need to be perfect – the more rustic the better!

Store the cake in the fridge. Take it out 20 minutes before serving.

Pumpkin_cheesecake_cake_6

31 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cake Cheesecake for #SundaySupper Veggies as A Main

  1. Pingback: Flourless Oatmeal Nutella Pumpkin Muffins for #SundaySupper - Cupcakes & Kale Chips

  2. Pingback: Vegetarian Pizza #SundaySupper - Feeding Big

  3. OH MY GOSH Nancy I’m SO OVER THE MOON EXCITED to hear that you left your job and that you’re, you know, HAPPY!!! That is so so so fantastic to hear and you have my full admiration for taking the jump of quitting your job even when you didn’t have another lined up! #bravo. Serious balls right there. Also this cake looks fabulous as per usual-I missed your crazy outrageously delicious creations. Send me a slice?! ;))

  4. Pingback: Roasted Potato and Spinach Soup

  5. Pingback: Easy Veggie Bake #SUNDAYSUPPER - Confessions of a Cooking Diva

  6. Pingback: Polenta with Aged Gouda, Chard & Wild Mushrooms #SundaySupper | 30AEATS

  7. First of all yay!! I am so glad you are back. Second: oh my geeeeeee, so glad you quit your job and found something 100x better. I know it’s difficult, extremely difficult to do something like that especially from a cultural background that’s all about success success (ahem african and Asian!). So glad you put your happiness first. I am this close to quitting too but my mother will kill me if I do. But it’s been a long 6 years of misery. Aieeee, I guess that’s why there is cake in my life always. To eat my feelings. I love how decadent and over the top this is! Love it! And love that you are back doing what you love. xoxo

  8. I am so, so happy you are happy! I’ve been praying you would find a job you could love (or at least one that doesn’t make your life utterly miserable)!! I have the best image of you mountain dancing while simultaneously stuffing your face with pumpkin cheesecake cake. That is the life!!

  9. Wooooo!!!! Good for you!! I’m so happy to hear your dancing on mountain tops! But really we’re from east van do we light shit on fire and drink vodka straight outta the bottle when we’re happy???
    This cake looks amazing! I hope you shared because I wouldn’t have.

  10. Pingback: #SundaySupper Mushroom and Goat Cheese Tart - A Kitchen Hoor's Adventures

  11. Nancy, I am SO happy for you!!! I’m glad you took a chance and left your job! Brilliant move!!! And also brilliant is this layered beauty full of pumpkin. This is the kind of veggie dish I like to cook and eat. P.S. I’ve missed you!!!

  12. Welcome back!!! I’ve missed you. Congratulations on the new job, so happy for you!!! But you gotta get back into blogging, especially if it means you’ll be sharing more recipes like this one! It looks ridiculous. Like, almost too freaking good to be real. I wish I could taste it through my laptop… 😦

  13. Pingback: Harissa-roasted vegetables with couscous #SundaySupper - Caroline's Cooking

  14. YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nancy!!!!!!!!! I was already so excited to see this new post from you and then when I actually read it — OMG. Words can’t express my admiration and glee to read this amazing news — you are incredible and this is the best, BEST thing ever. SO GLAD you’re happy and so glad you took the leap. You are the bravest and most badass and such an inspiration for the rest of us 🙂 Plus, this pumpkin cheesecake!!!!! I want all three layers right now. A million yay’s for you!!

  15. Ahhh, so glad to see a post from you! I may not be a lawyer, but the stress a job can bring is like no other, and I am glad you’re singing from the mountaintops (ugh, hilltops?) about it. This cake is GORGEOUS!!!

  16. Welcome back to blogging! I’m so happy for a number of reasons.
    1) I was able to talk you back into participating, especially with a post for #SundaySupper.
    2) That you decided to return with such a decadent dish
    but mostly
    3) Your announcement of a happier employment situation! Congratulations!

    By the way, this post was also a learning experience for my daughter because I had to explain to her that the lady singing in the YouTube video above also played the queen in The Princess Diaries movies.

  17. Nance, GIRLLLLLL–this post made me SO HAPPY!!!! I know we haven’t caught up since you left your job but I am so so so (times a billion) Julie Andrews-style happy for you, and I can’t wait to hear all about your amazing life changes since. YOU GO GIRL! And so does this amazing cheesecake cake, btw!! ❤ sending all my love!

  18. Pingback: Butternut Squash Portobello Tacos with Garlic Sage Cream Sauce #SundaySupper - Daily Dish Recipes

  19. Am I late reading this post! But it IS almost new year now, so I guess it still applies, jaja. Nance, my friend, I hope you’re as happy as that darn julie andrews (who blew it for us all girls, such a fairy tale) and that you’re ending the year on high notes. Let 2016 roll and see what it brings! Hope to meet you soon my friend (this wish is staying on the list!!)

  20. Pingback: Shiitake Mushrooms with Balsamic Glaze Over Polenta - Fearless Dining

  21. Pingback: Vegan Sandwich With Fresh Veggies #SundaySupper - Healing Tomato

  22. Pingback: Vegetarian Pizza - A dish the whole family can get involved in

  23. Pingback: Harissa-roasted vegetables with couscous - Caroline's Cooking

  24. Pingback: Vegetable Strudel for #SundaySupper -

Leave a comment