Nutella Layer Cake for a #GalentinesDayParty

You guys.

Nutella Layer Cake | www.gottagetbaked.com

It’s February 13, one of the most illustrious days of the year: Galentine’s Day.

It’s my third year participating and my second year co-hosting this party with my dear friend, Courtney, of NeighborFood. 12 of our best blogging friends are also getting in on the lady-lovin’ action:

It’s also one of my favourite holidays because today, it’s all about the ladies.

galentines3

So, what the heck is Galentine’s Day, you ask?

Galentines-Day

Our grand priestess of awesomeness and ass-kickery, Leslie Knope, created Galentine’s Day to celebrate her lady friends, breakfast-style. I absolutely love that this entire day is centred around recognizing and revelling in womankind. I mean, that’s something that should be done every day of every year but that’s not often the case.

Every day I read disheartening newspaper articles about how women’s rights are constantly being eroded; how women are attacked emotionally and physically; how women’s experiences are often disbelieved and discounted; how women’s work is not valued as much as men’s simply because of our gender…I can go on and on and on. Hell, I experience it myself. It’s not easy being a young minority female, especially in a male-dominated old school profession like the law. But instead of lamenting the woes of womanhood, I want to focus instead on our incredible potential, our amazing power, our boundless abilities and the love that we have for ourselves and each other.

This naturally brings me to my undying love and adoration for Barbra Streisand. A quick aside: Barbra came to Vancouver a few years ago for a concert. I didn’t learn about it until just a few weeks beforehand and all the cheap tickets had been sold. The only ones left were for $300 and up. No one except my best friend was willing to go with me and unfortunately, my BFF lives near Seattle. So, I contemplated paying the money and going by myself. Hell, I’m sure I would’ve been able to befriend the old people I’d inevitably sit next to but alas, my cheapness won out and I didn’t go. Why oh why oh why didn’t I goooooooo?!!!???!!! She’s never going to come back here. I missed my one chance to see Barbra in concert!!!

Anyways.

Nutella Layer Cake | www.gottagetbaked.com

I remember watching Yentl as a little girl with my family on tv. The story still speaks to me: Barbra plays Yentl, a girl living in Poland in the early 20th Century. Her father secretly instructs her in the Talmud even though women are forbidden from learning. After her father passes away, Yentl decides to impersonate a man, taking on her late brother’s name, so that she can continue to study. Wacky cross-dressing hijinx ensue!

I’ve always loved that Yentl was so determined to gain an education, despite what society dictated. Barbra herself spent years trying to get the movie made. The grit, endurance and dedication of both Barbra and her title character are awe-inspiring.

I was raised to be meek, submissive, obedient and unquestioning. Even to this day, I’m often plagued with self-doubt and a lack of confidence and it drives me insane. This is one of my favourite songs from the movie, not only because it sounds awesome and Barbra’s voice is that of a goddamn angel. The lyrics are beautiful and whenever I hear that voice of self-doubt, I should remind myself: With all there is, why settle for just a piece of sky?

Where is it written..What it is I’m meant to be? That I can’t dare…
It all began – the day I found – That from my window I could only see a piece of sky.
I stepped outside – and looked around
I never dreamed it was so wide – Or even half as high.
The time had come (Papa, can you hear me?)
To try my wings (Papa, are you near me?)
And even though it seemed at any moment I could fall,
I felt the most (Papa, can you see me?)
Amazing things, (Can you understand me?)
The things you can’t imagine If you’ve never – flown at all.
Though it’s safer to stay on the ground – Sometimes where danger lies
There the sweetest of pleasures are found
No matter where I go – There’ll be mem’ries that tug at my sleeve
But there will also be – More to question yet more to believe.
Oh tell me where – Where is the someone who will turn to look at me
And want to share – My every sweet-imagined possibility?
The more I live – the more I learn
The more I learn – the more I realize – The less I know
Each step I take – (Papa, I’ve a voice now!)
Each page I turn – (Papa, I’ve a choice now!)
Each mile I travel only means the more I have to go
What’s wrong with wanting more? If you can fly – then soar!
With all there is – why settle for – just a piece of sky?
Papa, I can hear you, Papa, I can see you
Papa, I can feel you, Papa, watch me fly!

Nutella Layer Cake | www.gottagetbaked.com

Nutella Layer Cake (adapted from Baking Bites)

2 cups flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream
1 cup coffee, room temperature
1/2 cup Nutella

Preheat oven to 350F. Line three 8 inch cake pans with paper liners.

In a large bowl, sift together flour and cocoa powder. Whisk in the sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

In another large bowl, whisk together the vegetable oil, eggs, vanilla extract, sour cream, coffee and Nutella. Add to the dry ingredients and stir until well combined and no streaks of flour remain visible. Divide evenly into the prepared pans.

Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

Cool cakes in the pans for at least 15 minutes then invert onto wire cooling racks.

Nutella Ganache

1/2 cup chopped dark chocolate
1/2 cup Nutella
1/2 cup whipping or heavy cream
1/2 tsp salt

Place the chopped chocolate and Nutella in a heatproof bowl.

In a saucepan over medium heat, heat the cream until it comes to a simmer. Pour half the heated cream over the chocolate and Nutella. Stir to combine. Pour in the rest of the cream and stir until fully combined and all the chocolate has melted. Add the salt and stir. Set aside to thicken.

Nutella Buttercream

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup Nutella
1 tsp salt

In a large bowl with a hand mixer or in the bowl of your stand mixer, combine the butter, cocoa powder and powdered sugar. Using the paddle attachment, cream together until light and fluffy, approximately 3-5 minutes. Add the sour cream, Nutella and salt. Whip until it’s fully combined and is smooth and silky.

Nutella Layer Cake | www.gottagetbaked.com

Assembly

Optional: chopped hazelnuts, approximately 2 cups

Take one layer of cake and trim off the top if it’s domed. Place a thin layer of buttercream onto the cake, top with some of the ganache, then cover with nuts. Repeat until you place the third layer of cake on top. Cover the cake with buttercream, pour the rest of the ganache overtop and decorate with the chopped nuts.

Nutella Layer Cake | www.gottagetbaked.com

This cake is one of the simplest, most delicious recipes in my repertoire. All you need for the batter is one bowl and due to the sour cream and oil, it is crazy moist (yeah, yeah, I know most people hate that word but it’s the only word to describe this cake!).

Nutella Layer Cake | www.gottagetbaked.com

Call up a bunch of your best girlfriends and make this cake because everything about it screams celebration. You won’t be sorry you did!

 

20 thoughts on “Nutella Layer Cake for a #GalentinesDayParty

  1. NANCY!! You’re one of my best gals so I’m so happy I got to participate in Galentine’s Day with you! (esp now that I am a Parks and Rec addict toooo :D) And this cake is perrrrfect-it’s everything I love! It looks so devadent and deeeelicious!

  2. I’m so thrilled to be celebrating another Galentine’s Day with you! Both your thoughtful post and incredible cake are awesome! So glad to call you a friend!!! xo

  3. Nancy, dude, I always love reading your posts. . this cake, OH MY GAWD. Is freaking amazing. Hoes before bros . . love it. and Barbara Streisand. YES, love her. . the next time you have the opportunity to see her, you just go dude. pay what you have to and just go. loved the song you shared. . it’s one of my favorites . . the lyrics are so beautiful. . happy galentine’s day!!! sorry I was too lame and didn’t join.

  4. Pingback: Cherry Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

  5. Pingback: Hula Pie for Galentine’s Day | Heather's Dish

  6. Nancy, you always manage to make me laugh, inspire, and challenge me in one post. I am so honored to be your friend and fellow Galentine’s Day cohost. This cake actually made my jaw drop. That oozing nutella filling and glaze! I want this to my dinner tonight.

  7. Well this looks amazing and I wish I was having it for breakfast. Alas, I will just have to stare dreamily at the screen and pretend. You know, I’ve actually never seem Yentl. Or many other Barbara movies for that matter. Crazy, right?? Clearly I need to get on that. I wish I could have gotten my act together in time to participate this year. Next year for sure! Until then, I will be dreaming of this Nutella Cake!

  8. I love your spirit, your passion, Nancy. I also love your gorgeous Nutella Layer Cake. (Pinning!) Thank you so much for including me in your fantabulous party ❤ P.s This old person would've loved to enjoy Babs in concert in Vancouver with you 😉

  9. Wonderful post! We need more days that celebrate women’s potential and our friendships, too. And I suspect my Nutella-loving niece will be finding an excuse to make that cake soon.

  10. Barbra is awesome in so many ways. The story that always impressed me the most was all the naysayers telling her that she would never make it in show business unless she had a nose job. Talented but too ugly, the casting directors supposedly said. But Barbra wouldn’t do it in case it changed her voice. I love the song you shared and hope you take it very much to heart, dear Nancy. You have a voice. You have a choice! And there is no good reason why you shouldn’t soar. P.S. That cake is magnificent too.

  11. I love EVERYTHING about this post, girl, and it’s SO nice to be reading your voice again (if that makes any sense??)!! Barbara is AMAZING and I remember growing up hearing her name with adoration. Also, THANK YOU for organizing this party because it’s such a great reminder of all the amazing women out there that we need to celebrate–including YOU! This cake is amazing, and so are you. Happy GALENTINE’S DAY, girl!

  12. Wow Nancy! First, 2 things…this cake is absolutely glorious, gorgeous, chocolatey and everything a cake should be…RICH! Such a stunner. Secondly, I loved reading this post. I have never heard of that song before and I watched the entire video and then read each lyric and wow, what a beautiful song and so beautifully written. I believe so strongly as this song is written. I believe very much that none of us are meant to just exist, but that we are meant for so much more and we CAN do so much more and we have to use our God given talents and gifts to use them to bless others, which in turn blesses ourselves. Beautiful post!

  13. a) I am super-excited to see a new post from you. It’s been waaaay too long!
    b) I am mega-super-excited that this post involves Nutella. Because the only thing better than a long overdue Nancy post is one that also involves Nutella.
    c) I am ridiculously-mega-super-excited that you managed to squeeze in references to both Parks & Rec and Yentl in one post. You’re officially my hero.
    Happy Galentine’s Day, lady. And welcome back. xo

  14. I love Nutella – I’ve never made a cake out of though. My SIL just brought home a Sam’s Club sized jar of it so I think I will have enough to make it all – hope it looks as pretty as yours!

  15. Thank you so much for hosting a wonderful Galentine’s Day party!!! So so glad I met you and can call you a true friend in this blogging community! You never cease to amaze me and inspire. This cake is nuts!! Like amazing nuts and deserves to be devoured every week.

  16. Oh my. Chocolate and hazelnut is a combination I’ve loved since I was a kid, and my French grandmother would send me chocolates. They were sort of chestnut shaped with a soft interior. Wish Iknew what they were and if they still existed!!! Love your cake. I wish I was a baker so I could eat it. Wish I knew a baker…

  17. I am just gaga for this cake! You know I have a think for Nutella and I’m not sure why people have to dis it so much. Maybe you have a better version in Canada than we get in the States, as I know the Italy one is slightly better. But still…there are worse things in life to worry about! Oh, and Barbra is so fabulous. She is such an amazing singer and actress and all she had to go through to make it. But then this cake…back to this lovely cake!! Seriously, I want to be your taste tester or neighbor or something!! Love it, Nancy!

  18. Hi, good afternoon. I tried your recipe this morning. Very good texture, delicious. This is first time I made cake. Considered successful for me. I thought I can’t do this. Only problem is the surface of the cake, cracked at last 7 minutes , hahaha. Will try again.
    Anyway, thank you very much.

Leave a comment